Fax: (903)983-1440 3800 Stone Road Kilgore, TX 75662 www.etcog.org

EAST TEXAS COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS



PRESS RELEASE

ETCOG Announces Judge Robert Johnston as New ETCOG Board & CEO/RPO Board Chairman

New Officers Elected for 2015 - 2016 Year

Kilgore, TX, October 13, 2015: The East Texas Council of Governments (ETCOG) is pleased to announce the appointment of the Honorable Robert D. Johnston as Chairman of the ETCOG Board of Directors and Executive Committee. Judge Johnston is the presiding officer of Commissioners Court, and as the County Judge is the only member of the five member body elected by all the citizens of Anderson County. The ETCOG Executive Committee is appointed by the Board of Directors and is responsible for carrying out the policies, programs and services established by the Board on behalf of our 14-county region. Judge Johnston has served as a member of the ETCOG Board of Directors and Executive Committee since 2011.

"By working together on the common regional platform provided through ETCOG, I believe we can accomplish much more than we can as individual cities and counties!" said Judge Johnston. "I am pleased and honored to serve the citizens of East Texas in this duel capacity".



Additionally, Johnston, was elected as Chairman of the ETCOG Chief Elected Officials/Rural Planning Organization (CEO/RPO) Board at their September, 2015 meeting. The CEO/RPO Board is comprised of County Judges from each of the 14 counties represented by ETCOG, the mayors of Longview and Tyler, and the three TxDOT District Engineers that serve the region. The Board's primary role is to oversee the Workforce Solutions East Texas Board; advise TxDOT on regional rural transportation needs; and advise ETCOG on other regional needs and special projects.

"Judge Johnston's informed perspective on the issues facing our region will help him excel as Chairman of The ETCOG and CEO/RPO Boards. As the first official to simultaneously serve as Chairman of both Boards, he is in a unique position to build on the regional successes of the past and lead us into the future in the areas of Workforce and Economic Development, Public Safety, Aging and Transportation", said ETCOG's Executive Director David Cleveland.

In addition to Judge Johnston as chairman, the newly elected officers for the 2015-2016 Executive Committee includes: Commissioner Virgil Melton, Van Zandt County, 1st Vice Chairman; Judge Bill Stoudt, Gregg County, 2nd Vice Chairman; Commissioner Paula Gentry, Upshur County, 3rd Vice Chairman; and Mayor Lynn Vincent, City of Carthage, Secretary-Treasurer. ETCOG would also like to thank Commissioner Wade McKinney of Henderson County for his chairmanship of the Board of Directors and Executive Committee from 2014 - 2015.

For more information, contact ETCOG's Executive Director, David Cleveland, at (903) 218-6423. Judge Johnston's office can be reached at (903) 723-7406.

About ETCOG

The East Texas Council of Governments (ETCOG) is a voluntary association of counties, cities, school districts and special districts within the fourteen-county East Texas region. ETCOG assists local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. Established in 1970, ETCOG, either directly, or through its contractors, provides programs and services for East Texas seniors, employers, and job seekers. ETCOG and its contractors also build the 9-1-1 emergency call delivery system, provide peace officer training and homeland security planning services; and deliver rural transportation services, business finance programs, and environmental grant funding for the region.